Gerald Bannister (Moncton, NB), recipient of Hockey Canada Order of Merit, Atlantic

Since joining the Moncton Minor Hockey Association Board of Directors in 1995, Gerald Bannister has been a strong, steady influence on amateur hockey in New Brunswick, championing each new generation as a players-first administrator.

Gerald joined Minor Hockey Council with Hockey New Brunswick as a district director in 2002, a position he still holds today. One reason Gerald makes such a difference is the long-term commitment he makes to each council or governing group he sits on. In 2009, he began a six-year term as vice-president of Minor Hockey Council. Two years later he became the Minor Council representative for the Elite Hockey Commission, a role he held until 2016. For the past five seasons, Gerald has been an executive member of the NB/PEI Major Midget Hockey League, first as president and now vice-president.

While those on the East Coast have felt Gerald’s influence for more than two decades, the rest of the country deserves to know the difference he has made to amateur hockey.

June 1, 2019



 OTTAWA, Ont. – Our love for the game of hockey lies in the hearts of countless volunteers from coast-to-coast-to coast, looking to share their passion with all Canadians.

On Friday, Hockey Canada recognized this passion and dedication to the game at the organization’s Spring Congress in the nation’s capital. Congratulations to the nine recipients, and a heartfelt thank you to all volunteers. 

The 2019 Hockey Canada award recipients are: 

ORDER OF MERIT (ATLANTIC) – Gerald Bannister (Moncton, N.B.)

 ORDER OF MERIT (CENTRAL) – Nicolas Minville (Saint-Amable, Que.)

 ORDER OF MERIT (WEST) – Wilf Martin (Saskatoon, Sask.)

 OFFICIATING AWARD – Larry Krause (Chilliwack, B.C.)

 FEMALE BREAKTHROUGH AWARD – Caroline Ouellette (Montreal, Que.)

 GORDON JUCKES AWARD – Gary McFarlane (Hamilton, Ont.)

 OUTSTANDING VOLUNTEER AWARD – Larry Gould (Schomberg, Ont.)

 HAL LEWIS AWARD – Esther Madziya (Lethbridge, Alta.) and Sean Raphael (Surrey, B.C.)

 Nominations for all awards were submitted by Hockey Canada’s 13 members, and the winners were chosen by a Hockey Canada selection committee. The success of minor hockey associations in Canada depend heavily on volunteers and Hockey Canada is pleased to recognize the individuals who contribute greatly to the game of hockey across the nation.

For more information on Hockey Canada, please visit, and follow along via social media on Facebook and Twitter.

- 30 –