Congratulations Shellany Brewer and Geneviève David

May 15, 2020
Shellany Brewer and Geneviève David selected as Hockey Canada, BFL Canada Female Coach of the Year New Brunswick Recipients
Hockey Canada, in partnership with BFL CANADA, announced the first winners of the BFL Female Coach of the Year awards. Introduced as an international marketing partner in October 2019, BFL CANADA’s commitment is to focus on growth and development opportunities for women in the game, on the ice and behind the bench.
Through the program, one high-performance and one community coach from each province and the northern territories have been recognized, with a national winner in each category.
BFL Female Coach of the Year – New Brunswick High Performance Winner
Geneviève David
In the 2019-2020 season Geneviève was the Assistant Coach for the St. Thomas University team, while also being Head Coach of the HNB U18 team that attended the Atlantic Challenge Cup and Team Atlantic that attended the National U18 Female Championship. In addition to the teams which she’s been part of, Geneviève has led on-ice sessions for both grassroots and AAA teams.
BFL Female Coach of the Year – New Brunswick Community Winner
Shellany Brewer
In the 2018-19 season, Shellany played an instrumental role in the creation of Central Female Hockey Association, while also coaching within the Association. This season, she organized an all-female NHL / NHLPA First Shift program in Fredericton, which helped to grow female hockey in the Capital Region. The passion and commitment that Shellany displays as both a coach and administrator has helped to triple the Association’s registration numbers is just one season.
“Thank you to all the coaches for allowing our young girls and women to develop and reach their full potential in a positive and supportive environment,” said Barry F. Lorenzetti, president and CEO of BFL CANADA. “Thank you for investing your time and energy in their passion and their future – you are making a real difference in their lives by being such dedicated coaches. BFL CANADA is proud to be a part of this journey in making the future of women’s hockey brighter.”
The selection committee included Olympic gold medallists Cassie Campbell-Pascall, Gina Kingsbury, director of women’s national teams with Hockey Canada, and Caroline Ouellette. They were joined by Steve Lacoste, national practice leader and vice-president – sports and leisure with BFL CANADA, and Teal Gove, manager of hockey development with Hockey Canada.
For more information, contact:
Nic Jansen
Hockey New Brunswick, Executive Director
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.